London Councils Chair and Executive confirmed at “important moment for our city”

Cllr Georgia Gould has been re-elected Chair of London Councils, promising to deliver on the boroughs’ shared agenda at this “important moment” for the capital.

At London Councils’ Leaders Committee AGM, held today (Tuesday 7 June 2022), borough Leaders and Directly Elected Mayors from across the 32 London boroughs and the City of London Corporation met to agree leadership roles.

Cllr Georgia Gould, Chair of London Councils, said:

“The next few years present huge challenges for London - tackling inequality in our city, supporting residents and businesses through the cost-of-living crisis and ensuring London’s voice is part of debates on levelling up.

“Having stepped up to support our communities during the pandemic despite incredibly difficult circumstances for us all, London boroughs are committed to working together on our shared ambitions from tackling the climate crisis to supporting Londoners facing a cost-of-living crisis. Together we will make the case for London and make sure the voices of Londoners are heard.

“I feel incredibly hopeful that at this important moment for our city, London boroughs will focus on delivering for communities across the capital.”

The following Leaders and directly elected Mayors were elected to London Councils’ Executive:

Chair: Cllr Georgia Gould (Lab, Camden)

Deputy Chair and Executive member for Regeneration, Housing and Planning: Cllr Darren Rodwell (Lab, Barking and Dagenham)

Vice Chair: Cllr Teresa O’Neill OBE (Con, Bexley)

Vice Chair: Cllr Ruth Dombey OBE (Lib Dem, Sutton)

Vice Chair: Deputy Chris Hayward (Ind, City of London Corporation)

Climate Change, Transport and Environment Lead and Digital Lead: Mayor Philip Glanville (Lab, Hackney)

Executive member for London’s Future (Business, Economy and Culture): Cllr Elizabeth Campbell (Con, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea)

Executive member for Communities (Welfare, Empowerment and Inclusion): Cllr Claire Holland (Lab, Lambeth)

Executive member for Children and Young People: Cllr Ian Edwards (Con, Hillingdon)

Executive member for Community Safety and Violence against Women and Girls: Cllr Jas Athwal (Lab, Redbridge)

Executive member for Health, Wellbeing and Adult Care: Cllr Nesil Caliskan (Lab, Enfield)

Executive member for Skills and Employment: Mayor Rokhsana Fiaz OBE (Lab, Newham) 


For further information please contact: